Congressional Independent Colleges Caucus


The Congressional Independent Colleges Caucus, launched in February 2017, offered 79 Members of 115th Congress an opportunity to both celebrate and advance the diversity of the nation's private, nonprofit colleges and universities, and learn about the challenges and issues these institutions face.

The Caucus serves as an informal group of Members dedicated to addressing the issues related to private, nonprofit colleges and the students they serve, while educating other Members on the issues facing independent colleges and universities.

The Caucus is currently being relaunched in the 116th Congress under the direction of new co-chairs: Rep. Martha Roby (AL-2) and Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-6).   

How to Get Involved

NAICU member presidents can invite their representatives using the following tools:  

Caucus Members

House of Representatives​

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)*
Martha Roby (R-AL)* 

Ralph Abraham (R-LA)
Pete Aguilar (D-CA)
Jim Banks (R-IN)
Donald Beyer (D-VA)
Rod Blum (R-IA)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Larry Buschon (R-IN)
Andre Carson (D-IN)
Buddy Carter (R-GA)
Matt Cartwright (D-PA)
Steve Chabot (R-OH)
David Cicilline (D-RI)
William Lacy Clay (D-MO)
Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)
James Comer (R-KY)
Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
Tom Emmer (R-MN)
Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA)
Mike Gallagher (R-WI)
Bob Gibbs (R-OH)


Kay Granger (R-TX)
Tom Graves (R-GA)
Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Jim Himes (D-CT)
Eleanor Holmes-Norton (D-DC)
David Joyce (R-OH)
Mike Kelly (R-PA)
Joe Kennedy (D-MA) 
Ron Kind (D-WI)
Steve King (R-IA)
Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)
Jim Langevin (D-RI)
John Larson (D-CT)
Robert Latta (R-OH)
Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
Doris Matsui (D-CA)
Betty McCollum (D-MN)
A. Donald McEachin (D-VA)
James McGovern (D-MA)
Jerry McNerney (D-CA)

Mark Meadows (R-NC)
Gwen Moore (D-WI)
Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)
Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
Ralph Norman (R-SC)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ)
Mark Pocan (D-WI)
Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
Martha Roby (R-AL)
Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Albio Sires (D-NJ)
Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Steve Stivers (R-OH)
Michael Turner (R-OH)
Marc Veasey (D-TX)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Ann Wagner (R-MO)
Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Robert Wittman (R-VA)
John Yarmuth (D-KY)


U.S. Senate

Edward J. Markey (D-MA)

* Co-chair                                                                                                                              (February 2019)